For German readers: some thoughts and notes and quotes on the music I'm listening - to be found
on my new blog:

Also check out the great new, independent magazine get happy!?, reporting on music, movies and more:

Wednesday, January 13, 2010

John Surman / Jean-Paul Celea / Daniel Humair - Nevers 2005

Here's a beautiful trio set by the great John Surman, accompanied by Jean-Paul Celea and Daniel Humair.

Humair is a favourite in this house, and he's not only been heard on this just posted Mariano/Haurand/Humair show, but also previously on a Yosuke Yamashita Trio set, with his own trio featuring Tony Malaby and Joachim Kühn, and with Tryptich, the collective trio of Celea, Humair and pianist François Couturier. And the good news is, all these shows can still be downloaded!

While John Surman usually is more of an impressionist and lyricist, in this setting here, he's blowing hard and I love it at least as much as his more impressionist playing for ECM etc.

This wonderful show needed quite some work to present the music with as little radio talk interrupting it as possible!

John Surman / Jean-Paul Celea / Daniel Humair 
Rencontres Internationales de Jazz de Nevers
Nevers (France)
November 11, 2005

John Surman - baritone & soprano sax, flute
Jean-Paul Celea - bass
Daniel Humair - drums

1. No Finesse (Surman) 19:21
2. Canticle (Surman) 8:31
3. VladaVe (Humair) 13:14 [a few seconds missing at beginning]
4. Round Trip (Ornette Coleman) 9:50 [a few seconds missing at beginning]
5. Falling (Surman) 7:05 [a few seconds missing at beginning]
6. Westminster (Humair) 8:43
7. Revised Edition (Surman) 5:44
8. Sweet Lady (Celea) 6:24

TT: 78:35

Sound: A
Lineage: FM > WAV (Wavelab) > FLAC (frontend level 8)
Source: France Musique "Jazz Club" / 2005-11-11
Seeder: Cosmikd

:: ubu edits ::

deleted as much fm talk as possible
added fade-outs and fade-ins

Additional lineage: FLAC > WAV > Cool Edit Pro > FLAC (8,asb,verify)


ubu said...

FLAC (tagged) + info:

cba said...

just thanks